Proposal and Production Budget

Title of film: “The Journey of Coffee”

Original Idea

For my first original idea, I was to tell the story of the process of how coffee beans are made made and produced before it makes it to the final product in the cafe. I was going to use ranges of locations such as the coffee tree in Kew Gardens, as the first stage where the coffee cherry is picked, before being sent off to the coffee roaster house (which my company owns), where its processed and made into coffee beans, then sent off finally to the cafe where its again processed in a espresso machine and turned into the final product, all using the beans as centre focus. The reason for making this, was due to my passion for coffee and the proccess and artistry of how it is made, it is something close to home for everyone, but it was also going to be an educational journey for me to learn how it is made during filming.

Updated final Idea

Because all of my plans were canceled due to the locations closing due to the pandemic, I could no longer carry out my first initial idea. Instead my final updated idea was to film from home, and show how I make coffee from home but telling a story using ranges of shots to do this, I want to show how I still love coffee and how it’s still a part of my life during this pandemic even though the coffee shops are all closed.

My Influences

I really love the ASMR used to capture sounds in this persons room, shows to appreciate small moments even in stillness, this really inspired me for my final idea.
The colours and warmth of the colour scheme in this video is also an inspiration for me.

My initial recent inspirations have been some Youtube vloggers who share montages and artistic videos of their every day home life, which is making me appreciate time at home, and find things to enjoy and do during these hard times. I want to show the same relaxing atmosphere that is portrayed in these vlogs whilst also telling a story in silence.

In terms of film, The Grand Budapest Hotel (directed by Wes Anderson), will also be my main inspiration, I love how he captures the details of the recipe, both in footage and in subtitling, using music only over the scenes, making it enjoyable to watch the recipe being bought to life.

The main inspiration from all these videos is also cinematography, I would like to capture my video in the same way making the scenes atmospheric and relaxing to watch, which is why the way the footage will come out will be organic and artistic in its final production.

Production budget

In the first initial idea for my film, I was going to sum up cost of my journey from and to the places I wanted to shoot. Such as

  • travel fares
  • tickets
  • food

Luckily because I was a part of the coffee company I worked for, so the filming session at the coffee roasters was free for me, thanks to my sainted boss. The travel fares was partially covered because me and my partner who was to assist me on shooting days, was on a monthly student travel bus pass, as we were on a budget, we planned to travel to the roastery and then to coffee shop the same day by bus, the next session we were going to purchase tickets to access kew Gardens and film, with also their permission to film around the coffee tree.

But again since the filming had been canceled, and I had no choice but to shoot from home, my limitation was to film from home. so the budget was to buy some things such as the equipment and ingredients, primarily the coffee.

Length

The previous idea had a range of 3-4 minutes, but now it is shortened to 2-3 minutes because of the new developments on my new idea.

Audience

It will be mostly for the audiences above the stated age that caffeine can consumed, since it is after all a beverage consumed by adults. So mostly for young adults around the age of 17 and above I’d imagine.

Leave a comment