1.1 JUSTIFY YOUR CHOICES IN RELATION TO A GIVEN BRIEF

In class we began mapping out and brainstorming ideas of what types of animation there are and what ideas we could come up with for the themes on our project theme “Propaganda”, one idea I was keen on was an idea inspired by “Animal Farm” (a story by George Orwell), a political satire story which had a micro society that represented the Russian Revolution of 1917.

I really like the representation of humans being the downfall of the Russian Monarchy and the pigs representing the Bolsheviks, this inspired me to represent the same with my characters.

Zootopia as well was an inspiration for me for inventing a micro society for my story, in the movie animals represent different variety of species living in a metropolitan city, and a “species” discrimination is one of its central themes, which I found very clever idea on how the world we live in today also discriminates people of varieties of races.

In the end I chose to make my characters based of fruit as there was many varieties, and my character to be a tangerine and his friend a grapefruit, since they will be a singled out minority which I can relate to as a mixed race person in society.

My Final Idea

The original idea was going to be about a town of fruit run by lemons, the oranges feel the oppression, a little tangerine and his friend a grapefruit decide to stand a revolution, in which the oranges start to take over with their orange regime. The Apples start to feel oppressed and another revolution begins.

My final idea then changed for these fruits to be friends and there is a friendship leadership rivalry to exemplify what propaganda they are conjuring to get other friends to be on their side. This is based on work-based problems in the workplace when people spread gossip to get people on their side. This will be a funny piece of animation.

Treatment

Title : A Fruity Mess

Synopsis: Tanga the tangerine meets up with Bob, who secretly cant stand him. Bob then proceeds to tell him the boss at work has been saying some bad things about Tanga, Tanga then gets upset until they see their boss but their boss is actually happy with Tanga’s work. Tanga then gets furious with Bob, saying he did it again, trying to bring him down, because he’s been spreading propaganda against him at work, but bob retorts by saying that’s more like conspiring than propaganda, which fumes Tanga at the end.

Leave a comment