Final Film Project

To begin editing on Adobe Premier pro, I first had to film my scenes in my room following the storyboarding and script. Once it was done, I looked through my footage and imported my footage into Premier Pro.

Because the setup was similar to After effects, it was fairly easy for me to catch on with this set up, how ever getting used to its functions was a trick for me, but I realised the clips would be in seperate blocks as well as the audio, and each one could be cut using the arrows which would indicate where you want the footage or audio to be cut. There was also layers that could be added in for both audio and footage as well, which came handy to add in effects.

Working with Effects

The first thing I made sure for the text to be added in, I needed to add guidelines and rulers, a rule I go by regardless in design to show planning and formatting. The text font I used was “Huntington” from a royalty free font website Dafont.com, as I wanted the video to have a diary or journal feel to it. I had fun editing the title sequence as I was very eager to learn how to edit a handwriting title effect.

First I had to add text, then I placed the rulers and guidelines to help me centre the title. The text box of the writing can be seen on the timeline, then I create a new “transparent video” which I then add on top of the text box. Then to add the effect, I go to “Effects”>”Write On”, and drag the effect over the transparent video box. Then i got Effect controls on the left side, I could adjust my brush stroke size, which I made sure was not too big or small to cover the text, and the length size, which allows to control the duration of the effect time. I chose a green brush, which allowed me to see in contrast, where the strokes were going for this effect to work. And like After Effects, the “Brush Position” stop watch worked just like After Effects, which meant with every key frame, I would position and move the line according to the animation of the handwriting I wanted, with the help of the keyframe panel next to the “Effect Controls”. This took around an hour to do, as I tried carefully the anchor and line the animation frames per second.

Once this was done, I went to “Effects” > “Track Matte Key”, and dragged the effect over the text box. Then to “Effects Controls” I went to “Matte” and chose the video it was selected on, the lines disappear and then the effect is produced.

To control the “Opacity” to make the videos fade in or out, this was fairly easy for me to catch on as well, as the principal of this was similar to After effects with the timelines, except I could control it from the separate key frame panel next to the “Effects Controls”, I would time it on the keyframe and set it to 0% Opacity to darken the frame, and then to the time I chose, raise it to %100 Opacity to fade out the video clip, this could be done with text as well.

Audio

Because I had to look for royalty free music for my video, I read the policy for its music usage, as long as it was a non profit project, the usage for it was ok to use. I wanted to use Lo Fi music as I thought something relaxing would’ve suited the video as a whole. I chose “Done with Work” by David Renda for its happy and relaxing tones.

Evaluation and Final Video

As it was my first video, I’d say it was a good learning experience in filming and working with Premier Pro, I do wish I had more experience in learning to render, as the quality of the video lacked mostly because my laptop lacked a graphics card, which I learned at the last minute when I finished the editing process. I had to go through many stages of rendering and exporting till I found a decent enough quality for the video (which in animation I never experience as a technicality problem). The main problems I had with filming this video was that with working with food its important to have a trail recipe before going through with the final video, as I wanted the milk to be frothy but with Lacto Free milk (it was the only alternative milk I could find) it wasn’t possible.

My table was also a technical problem, I made sure the camera didn’t wobble however the I couldn’t control the table especially during clips I could not do it over with and had only one take to do. I also realised the time on the phone didn’t help to show it was morning, so I added text over to camouflage it and removed the “Good morning” text at the beginning to not confuse the audience with the time of the video.

Overall I was ok with my experience, I wish I had learned how to render properly as I wanted a high resolution for the video to come out but I was happy learning how to edit on Premier Pro.

Leave a comment