Script Outline and Scene Breakdown

The way I will plan it (for my current updated work) will be using a range of different angles to film the story of my morning when I get up and start making my coffee from home during the pandemic, using atmosphere and cinematography to capture this in my room, I’m excited to try work with natural lighting with my DSLR to record, I also have my own tripod I can work with from home as well. I’m hoping to find some music online that is free to use over my film, but if not it will be silent using natural sounds from the equipment I use for the coffee making.

I’m also wondering if I could use some subtitles at the bottom of my video to talk about my life during the pandemic and how I miss working at the cafe making coffee on the machine, but also appreciating making coffee for myself in my own pace for a change. The way the film will be compiled up will be like a montage of clips of the coffee extraction process.

Script Outline

INT – No Dialogue – Morning Time

  • Scene 1 : Close up shot of phone alarm ringing next to my bed, my hand reaches out to turn it off, and I get out of bed.
  • Scene 2 : I place everything ready on the table to prepare making my coffee on my cafetière.
  • Scene 3 : Extreme close up to the bottom of the cafetière, I start putting the coffee grounds into it.
  • Scene 4 : Medium shot of kettle brewing, while steam is coming out.
  • Scene 5 : Medium close up shot of the top of the cafetière rim, I pour until it is filled to the top.
  • Scene 6 : Medium close up shot in different angle of the topper placed on top with the lever upwards.
  • Scene 7 : Extreme close up Shot of alarm being set up, I start to whisk the milk in the back.
  • Scene 8 : Skip to same shot, but the alarm ringing, I push the lever down to extract the coffee.
  • Scene 9 : Close up shot of cup in centre, I pour the coffee over half way, then place the whipped cream over, then to finish I add chocolate powder.
  • Scene 10: Medium close up shot of desk, laptop is placed, I reach out to take coffee to drink, then place it back, film ends.

Scene Breakdown

Leave a comment